Thinking Out Loud Thursday

Thinking-Out-Loud

 

1.  First, can we talk about how Liza Howard is amazing:

Six months post-partum (so six months of sleep deprivation, plus three ten minute breaks to breast pump during the race), crushing the female record at Umstead 100 in 15:07.  Truly an inspiration to us all!  For further proof please see this What Is Ultra post about her.

 

2.  Buzzfeed posted an article called  75 Thoughts Every Runner Has While Out For A Run a few days ago, and I’m pretty sure during all the very unsightly guffawing I was relating to almost everything on the list:

buzzrun

Most people have probably already seen this, but I need to note this here just in case there’s one poor unfortunate soul out there who hasn’t happened upon this already.  And while we’re talking about hilarious things:

THIS.

“100 miles? I don’t even like to drive that far.”
“Your mom doesn’t like to drive that far.”

#zerolimits

I’ve never ran 100 miles, but I’ve received this clever (not) little line for just doing half marathons, 25ks or 50ks before, so.  PSA to all you out there: NOT FUNNY.  Also I was torn between pride and embarrassment at how much some of these things resonate with me.  Especially the shoe thing.  …so many shoes.

 

3.  WHY CAN’T I RUN A HUNDRED MILES.

 

4.  On a more serious note, there’s this, a photo project by @DearWorld that admittedly had me a little teary eyed.

DEAR SURVIVORS,

When we asked you to return to the finish line, a place that changed your lives, we knew it wouldn’t be easy. You told us some days are harder than others, but that it’s okay to have bad days.

Mostly you told us about the goodness of others. Colleagues who babysat. School kids who sent notes. Neighbors who cooked dinner.

What happened that day was terror. Terror happens when love is absent.

Boston is a city of love stories now.

Thank you for sharing yours here. As you heal, know you inspire the rest of us to be better, still.

Love,

Robert
Founder, Dear World

 

I think it is incredibly important when tragedies like this occur that we highlight the survivors and wonderful people who were there to help others who were suffering.  This is an beautiful example of how to move on when something irreparably terrible happens around you, and if you have even just one moment to spare I would suggest you check it out.  🙂

 

5.  I went back to CrossFit for the first time in almost two months on Monday, and MY BODY IS STILL BROKEN.  Well, not completely, but it’s been quite a long time that I’ve felt so sore.  I tried to run today and still felt a bit off.  The WOD we did was 3 rounds of 5 body weight deadlifts, 25 box jumps, and 10 pull-ups.  Now, the box jumps and deadlifts I can probably get away with a little bit of stiffness for a couple of days, a bit of tired legs, whatever – I’ve been running the whole time I’ve not been doing CrossFit, so those weren’t really a big deal.  I have NOT however been doing upper body, so the short story here is that lifting my arms went from laughably easy pre-WOD to an impossibly post-WOD (the day after) and then to a very uncomfortable chore within the last few days.  So, that’s a thing.  #crossfitkills

 

6.  I really need to get back into cross-training before my body breaks FOR REAL.  Hence the CrossFit.  I even bought a Groupon for 20 yoga classes.  I went to yoga and am not ashamed to say I bitched for like ten minutes after (jokingly, more or less – but still) because yoga is freaking HARD.  Ugh.  I’ve been trolling r/yoga a lot lately, and if that one yoga class I took last week wasn’t proof enough of my distinct lack of flexibility in certain places, seeing something like this makes me feel like an inflexible stone:

twisty

What is this I don’t even.

I’m not even sure what to think of things like this.  What are you, Gumby?!  Meanwhile I can’t even get my heels to the ground in down dog.  Damn.

 

7.  (I had to check to see what number I was on.  Probably a sign this is going too far.)  So I’ve been pretty good at avoiding overpriced workout clothes lately, but today the local lululemon store posted this adorable tank on their FB page, and it’s got my jimmies all rustled.

lulutank

 

This is getting long and soon it won’t even be Thursday anymore.  So I leave you with, number 8:

 

8.)

I think this speaks for itself.

I think this speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

